National Community Service Awards


NRECA’s National Community Service Awards program recognizes those cooperatives that have demonstrated their commitment to the seventh cooperative principle: “a concern for community.”

Award Categories:

  • Energy Efficiency
    Through innovation, proactive leadership and successful implementation, many electric cooperatives are leading the industry in maximizing efficiency gains. This award recognizes cooperatives working to provide their member-owners with the most efficient systems and practices available.
  • Community Investment
    This award recognizes investments of financial and other resources to improve the economic conditions, health, safety or overall quality of life in the community or to improve the political participation of the cooperative’s members and employees.
  • Youth Programs
    This award honors the significant contributions of rural electric systems to local, state, and national educational programs that can help young cooperative members understand the cooperative business model or the importance of civic responsibility and political or community involvement.
Year 2015 Award Winners Are:

Contact: Gabe Snow, Grassroots Advocacy at 703-907-5799 or via e-mail at or Laura Vogel, Politcal Affairs at 703-907-5717 or via email at