Youth Leadership Council

During Youth Tour, you can have the chance to be selected to represent your state on the NRECA Youth Leadership Council (YLC). One student from each state is selected and they will come back to Washington, D.C., in July for a leadership workshop which will focus on the electric cooperative industry.

The purpose of the YLC conference is to build leadership and public speaking skills, and to enhance the delegates’ knowledge of the energy industry and the cooperative form of business. These students will also make presentations at their statewide and local cooperative annual meetings.

Each student will prepare a 5-7 minute speech about what inspired them during their Youth Tour trip.  Consult our YouTube channel for examples of prior speeches. Also, the YLC National Spokesperson will be selected to address the membership at the NRECA Annual Meeting and to address the Youth Tour delegates the following year.

Members of the YLC play an important role during NRECA’s Annual Meeting the following spring.  Not only are the YLC members recognized on stage, they have a hands-on experience with virtually every facet of the meeting including the resolutions process and helping our members communicate with their legislators.

Youth Leadership Council members leave more poised, confident and a better developed leader with a strong determination to improve your community and make their country a better place.  Further, they leave having built life-long friendships with other student leaders from across the country.

2014-2015 YLC Members
Alabama Savannah Frederick Wiregrass Electric Cooperative, Inc.
Alaska MaKayla Wong Copper Valley Electric Cooperative
Arizona NaRayah Runyen Sulphur Springs Valley Electric Cooperative
Arkansas Allison Edwards North Arkansas Electric Cooperative
California Lindsay Noggles Plumus-Sierra Rural Electric Cooperative
Colorado Jill Wilkinson United Power Electric Cooperative
Delaware Ariana Gannon Delaware Electric Association, Inc.
Florida Christine Boettcher Clay Electric Cooperative
Georgia Michael Smith Jackson EMC
Hawaii Darrian-Skye Muraoka Kaui Island Utility Cooperative
Idaho Savannah Chadwick Idaho Falls Power
Illinois Wyatt Reid Rock Energy Cooperative
Indiana Sarah Weaver Tipmont Rural Electric Membership Co-op
Iowa Susan Schwickerath Hawkeye Rural Electric Cooperative
Kansas Jacob Rose DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc.
Kentucky Matthew Hearld Jackson Energy Electric Cooperative
Louisiana Taylor Hayes Northeast Louisiana Power Cooperative
Maryland David Maurer SMECO
Michigan Kelsey Miller Great Lakes Energy
Minnesota Marissa Anne Kunerth Nobles Cooperative Electric
Mississippi Brooke Bullock Dixie Electric Power Association
Missouri Rachel Walden Intercounty Electric Cooperative Assn.
Montana Kjersten Sandru Vigilante Electric Cooperative
Nebraska Dylan Widger Elkhorn Rural Public Power District
Nevada Victoria Magoon Overton Power District
New Jersey Thomas Lanzilotti Sussex Rural Electric Cooperative
New Mexico Xavier Romero Mora-San Miquel Cooperative
New York Alexis Peavey Oneida-Madison Electric Cooperative, Inc.
North Carolina Delance Stephens South River Electric Membership Co-op
North Dakota Nathaniel Thoreson Cass County Electric Cooperative
Ohio Rachel Wenzinger Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative
Oklahoma Bethany Shultz Lake Region Electric Cooperative
Oregon Ashley Standridge Douglas Electric Cooperative
Pennsylvania Hannah Miller Bedford Rural Electric Cooperative
South Carolina Rachel Sanders Aiken Electric Cooperative
South Dakota Kristina Luczak Central Electric Cooperative
Tennessee Denisha Patrick Chickasaw Electric Cooperative
Texas Michaela Gardner Houston County Electric Cooperative
Utah Breonna Hammon Garkane Energy Electric Cooperative
Virginia Rosewell Jones,  IV Rappahannock Electric Cooperative
Washington Talitha Anderson
West Virginia Seth Law Harrison Rural Electric Association
Wisconsin Tessa Otto Price Electric Cooperative
Wyoming Robert Carrizales Big Horn Rural Electric
  • Teila Peiler, CA
  • Blake Kleaving – MI
  • Jasper Williams – LA
  • Ivy Prater – NE